Serving Through Words

Feet

I once had a supervisor who, upon being called would arrive and ask, “what can I do for you?”. I have never forgotten his genuine attitude of service.


Mark 10:45 – For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.


It is a good thing to end the day knowing we have given our all. Knowing we have served the Lord zealously and enthusiastically, as Paul exhorts us to in Romans 12:11. But we can be enthusiastically serving ourselves (I know I can!). Serving ourselves can be so easily hidden. It can be made to look righteous, but in reality our “service” can have a self-centered motivation.

During His time on earth, one of the ways in which our Lord served, was by what He said. In love, He spoke the truth to others. Sometimes this was an encouragement, such as when He forgave sin. Sometimes it was a strong rebuke, such as when He called Peter Satan! Many times He was teaching truths to His followers.

What about me? How do I use my words to serve?

  • Do I speak the truth to encourage – “God is sovereign my friend. He has control of this situation”.
  • Do I love enough to rebuke – “Hey my friend (or child or spouse), this thing you’re doing is really not good. I am concerned for you.”
  • Do I take the time to teach His truths – When a friend or family member is faced with a difficult situation, do I help them see the biblical truth or principle that should be applied?

Proverbs 18:21 – Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.

Standard

Leave a Reply

